Angies List reviews (recent)

      

 

 

angies list super service award   angies list        SSA_2014

Angie’s List Super service award every year of membership!

Pawfection Dog training has more Angie’s list reviews than ANY OTHER dog training company and maintains a consistent 5 A rating over 58 reviews !!

See  Angie’s List reviews below (all taken directly from the Angie’s list site and all 100% real and verifiable)

Live Real Radio 104.1 review May 3rd 2016 (Click below)

___________________________________________

Review Date: June 22, 2015
Member:
Pat Boyter
432 London Rd.
Winter Park, FL 32792
Category:
Animal Training
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
June 13, 2015
Hire Again:
Yes
Approximate Cost:
$200.00
Description Of Work:
I had a home visit for my 2 year old aggressive towards other dogs and some people, Wiemaraner. Plus he was growing fast and would pull me on walks. Darryl visited, watched, talked about my concerns and then we went out to experience how Jasper walked and reacted. He gave me specific instructions and showed me how to handle my dog. He also told me about the classes he has which are half obedience and half fungility which Jasper loves! I followed the instructions Darryl gave and showed me. A main part is you as the owner have to take the responsibility to follow through. Jasper walks beside me, passes other dogs or sometimes he greets them. No more growling, snapping, pulling – I recommend Pawfection very highly. I have stuck with them for four years now because my dog is just what I wanted him to be and he loves the classes. Non aggressive and very obedient and we are happy campers. Darryl is a real Professional.

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

_____________________________________________

Review Date: June 10, 2015
Member:
mila berdecia
14206 Holly Pond Court
Orlando, FL 32824
Category:
Animal Training
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Hire Again:
Yes
Description Of Work:
They helped me with my dog because he barks a lot. He was so nice and it only took one session. I really liked that he asked about my dog’s nutrition.
Share on Band of Neighbors:
Yes

Overall A

_______________________________________

Review Date: June 09, 2015
Member:
Tyra Dickens
2319 Belen Dr
Deltona, FL 32738
Category:
Animal Training
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
June 08, 2015
Hire Again:
Yes
Approximate Cost:
$225.00
Description Of Work:
Darryl provided my family with tools to be able to have a happy family unit with our Yorkie Maggie
Member Comments:
Darryl came and started with a little history behind why dogs do what they do in their own packs. He made us understand that in our home we are the leader and our dog should follow what we say to do. We then brought Maggie out ans she was given tests on door control she heads for the hills once the front door is crack open enough.We were taught games to play with her so that she still gets the working part of her mind going. The children can even play different games with her as well so it really is a family mission. We went on a walk and taught us techniques that will benefit our household and they worked. When Darryl left we all were mentally beat  but I would not change it for the world. Our home went from a Yorkie telling us what to do to us taking back our home so that we all can live together.
Share on Band of Neighbors:
Yes

_____________________________________________

Review Date: April 30, 2015
Member:
Terri Anderson
1192 irwin ct
Winter Springs, FL 32708
Category:
Animal Training
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
April 25, 2015
Hire Again:
Yes
Approximate Cost:
$105.00
Description Of Work:
Dog train classes
Share on Band of Neighbors:
No

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

_________________________________________________

Review Date: February 23, 2015
Member:
Christie Effron
52 Clark Street
Oviedo, FL 32765
Category:
Animal Training
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
February 12, 2015
Hire Again:
Yes
Approximate Cost:
$225.00
Description Of Work:
In home dog training visit for 2 dogs, both mastiff mix.
Member Comments:
I have 2 very large mastiff mix dogs and one was fixed while the other wasn’t (boy and girl) and they recently started having aggression issues in addition to basic dog behavior issues like barking and charging at the door. I scheduled an in-home training session with Darryl Payne after he was recommended by my vet when I went to him to discuss the behavior concerns. I was really skeptical about a 1 visit dog training session being able to work because mastiffs are known to be a stubborn breed of dog, and only 1 visit was unbelievable. While I won’t say that their behavior does not need work still, after 2 weeks the changes in their behavior is so drastic and surprising it’s nothing short of spectacular and I do not regret a single penny of what I paid for the service. In addition to showing me the proper techniques for dog training, Darryl also gave suggestions on their dog food, exercise, and some additional products that he was not trying to sell me but thought would benefit us better than similar products we already owned. The only additional product he even tried to sell me was only because he could offer me a discount over what the price would have been at a pet store so it was more of doing his clients a favor than him trying to be a salesman. I have recommended them to everyone I know!
Share on Band of Neighbors:
Yes
Page Of Happiness Nominee


Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

______________________________________________

Review Date: February 04, 2015
Member:
Michelle Mills
839 E. 13th Ave.
New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Category:
Animal Training
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
February 04, 2015
Hire Again:
Yes
Approximate Cost:
$275.00
Description Of Work:
He turned our rescue dog from a barking growling hyper fearful  dog who did not welcome visitors into a relaxed, calm, really nice dog who now enjoys his walks and is a delightful dog in all situations, not just when alone with us.
Member Comments:
It went GREAT.   Darryl spent the first hour reviewing our listed concerns and educating US in animal behavior and human interactions.   He taught us what makes a dog happy and how to help him understand the world in which he lives.  Darrly speaks “Dog” like no one we know.  Darryl promotes positive reinforcement, not food rewards.   We’ve read training manuals & had many dogs over the past 40+ years but our new friend presented challenges we’d not encountered with our prior dogs.  Darryl addressed each concern, assessed the dog’s personality and what was needed to suit our dog specifically.   He first trained inside our house and when we were happy with what we and our dog had learned, we advanced to the walk.   Darryl accompanied us around the neighborhood and watched our dog with the neighborhood dogs & people and told us how to  handle each situation.   We were so happy and will now enjoy walking our dog rather than hoping we don’t have any unpleasant encounters.   We highly recommend Pawfection Dog Training to anyone needing to help their canine friend understand the world in which they live so we can all have peace and tranquility.
Share on Band of Neighbors:
No

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

____________________________________________

Review Date: December 05, 2014
Member:
Anthony Krogh
4133 Edgewater Drive
ORLANDO, FL 32804
Category:
Animal Training
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
November 25, 2014
Hire Again:
Yes
Approximate Cost:
$225.00
Description Of Work:
In home dog training
Member Comments:
Darryl was great! Even though it was a rainy day he spend a lot of time learning about our dog and our challenges. He then helped us formulate a comprehensive plan to provide our dog the things she needed (boundaries, exercise, mental challenges, etc). What’s so great about his approach you feel empowered with the knowledge of why your dog is behaving the way she is….and how live in harmony. It’s been two weeks since his visit and our house and pet has been transformed into one filled with joy. We still have daily challenges but we know exactly how to handle them! Thank you Darryl! Highly recommended!
Share on Band of Neighbors:
No
Submitted from Angie’s List iPhone Application

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

__________________________________________

 

Review Date: November 06, 2014
Member:
Tracy Gibbs
PO Box 620843
Oviedo, FL 32762
Category:
Animal Training
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
October 29, 2014
Hire Again:
Yes
Approximate Cost:
$225.00
Description Of Work:
Darryl came out to my daughters home for a two hour session with my daughters one year old dog Wallace, a Corgi.
Member Comments:
It went “FABULOUS” !!!!!!
I have to say that my daughter and I were skeptical before our appointment with Darryl. His wife Penny had
reassured me that they could help us with our training issues with Wallace. Wallace is a very fun loving happy dog
who loves to bark from sunrise to sundown. He also like to eat everything he can get a hold of off the sidewalk when
going on walks. Not to mention a few other issues!
Darryl had us keep Wallace separate upon his arrival and he spent the first part of our appointment showing us a power point
and discussing our issues with Wallace’s behavior. Darryl took time to listened to exactly what the problems were. Darryl is extremely knowledgeable about animal habits, training, nutrition and overall “the WHYs” of why Wallace was behaving in the manor he was.
After our discussion we then introduced Darryl to Wallace. Of course it didn’t take long for Wallace to show Darryl exactly why we had called him out.  He was gentle with Wallace and before we knew it the session was ending and Darryl had taught my daughter and I as well as Wallace what to do and what not to do.
Once Darryl left I though perhaps Wallace would go back to his old tricks, however, Wallace has turned into the perfect dog. He doesn’t bark uncontrollably anymore and he doesn’t eat off the sidewalk anymore!!!!
We highly recommend Pawfection!!! They didn’t try to sell us more than what we had the appointment for. They are very professional and you can see they have a real love for animals and it shows in their performance.
If you need a trainer, then you don’t need to look any farther because these people have a passion for what they do and they do it well!!!!
Share on Band of Neighbors:
Yes
Page Of Happiness Nominee


Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

 

__________________________________________________

Review Date: September 24, 2014
Member:
Jean LeMieux-Warthen
124 Anthony Drive
SANFORD, FL 32773
Category:
Animal Training
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
November 22, 2013
Hire Again:
Yes
Approximate Cost:
$150.00
Description Of Work:
The trainer came to our house and spent quite a bit of time with us. We had adopted a dog so we weren’t sure of his background and were a bit put off by his timidity. He was able to evaluate our puppy and showed us a couple of games for him. He answered all our questions and was also able to refer us to the Pet Pantry for our pickie eater/

Overall A
Price B
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism N/A

_____________________________________________________

Review Date: August 20, 2014                      5 A RATING
Member:
Pam D
1423 Farrindon Circle
Heathrow, FL 32746
Category:
Animal Training
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
August 20, 2014
Hire Again:
Yes
Approximate Cost:
$225.00
Description Of Work:
Behavior modification and training for my ten year old terrier
Member Comments:

After reading several reviews online and doing my homework I chose Darryl with Pawfection. It took approximately 3 weeks to get an appointment but well worth the wait. I have two 10 year old Cairn Terriers.The dominant of the two goes into a “red zone” (a term used by a previous trainer) when she sees cars, bikes and other dogs. I tried another trainer years ago and have picked up advice over the years all with no success. Needless to say, I was skeptical that anything would work but I didn’t want my dog to continue to be unhappy and for me, the continued frustration on walks.

Darryl took the time to talk about dog behavior and explained why the methods I used were not working (which made a lot of sense). We set up every scenario that sets my dog off. Starting with barking at the door, it took two practice knocks before the behavior was eliminated. Then he rode my bike and again, using the same correction, it took one time for her to ignore the bike. Next, he brought his large dog over (the scariest part for me because I was afraid my dog would set her off and be eaten alive). We started with him walking up on my dog and I outside, the same scenario I face everyday in the neighborhood. With Darryl’s guidance, I was able to recognize WHEN and how to correct my dog. We then were able to have his dog inside my home to test the territory theory. I could not believe that after one or two corrections my girl politely sniffed and greeted like a happy dog. We tested her later today at their facility in Lake Mary where Darryl brought out other dog breeds with different personalities. Even with an aggressive German Shepherd, my Abbey remained calm. I am truly amazed that using an air horn worked for Abbey given that I’ve tried a similar technique before. The key is to understand WHEN and HOW to use it. Only a seasoned and certified trainer like Darryl can teach you this. Every dog is different and he has an arsenal of methods based on what works for your particular dog. I really like the technique and will graduate to a “verbal” command soon enough. I honestly thought that at the very least we’d have to use a vibration collar for Abbey given how long she has exhibited this aggressive and stubborn behavior. I really didn’t want to do that and fortunately the first recommended method worked beautifully, I’m truly amazed! Don’t assume your dog needs a vibration collar or worse, a shock collar, to correct their behavior.

Any pet owner who’s gone through training before understands how important it is to be consistent. However, if you’re taught the wrong techniques and/or how to use them you’ll have little success. Just do yourself and your dog a favor and call Darryl first, you’ll be happy you did.

 

___________________________________________________

Review Date: August 12, 2014                             5 A Rating
Member:
violet fleck
5336 Rose Ave.
LOCKHART, FL 32810
Category:
Animal Training
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
August 11, 2014
Hire Again:
Yes
Approximate Cost:
$225.00
Description Of Work:
They came and trained me so I would train my dog the right way. This is the first day but so far my dog is listening to me and doing great.
Share on Band of Neighbors:
                                   __________________________________________________________
JUNE 26th 2014          5 A Rating
member:
merigan barton
ORLANDO, FL 32806
Category:
Animal Training
Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
June 23, 2014
Hire Again:
Yes
Approximate Cost:
$200.00
Description Of Work:
Dog training.
Member Comments:
I am very pleased with the service I got from Pawfection!!  I have a lot of experience with dogs but the newest addition to my family was a tough case for me to crack.  I had read all the books and tried all the conventional methods but this dog just did not get it.  I did a ton of research on line and decided to go with pawfection due to the the back ground of Darryl Payne.  Anyone can be a “dog-trainer” now but I needed someone with experience and a proven history to help me with my dog.  Darryl came to my house and spent the time listening to my issues with the dog and then he tailor his training method to my situation.  Not all dogs are trained the same way and Darryl was able to help me find a way to stop my new dog from bolting out of the house, chewing, and trying to chase my cats.  With his advice I will be able to continue to work with my dog and make him the part of the family we always wanted!!!!  One in home session is all I needed.  If you are looking for a dog trainer and want the most experienced, least time consuming, and most affordable you need to contact Pawfection.
Share on Band of Neighbors:
Yes

Tiffany Cox
Orlando, FL 32827

March 26, 2014

 

Approximate Cost: 

$200.00

 

Description Of Work: 

In-Home Visit

Member Comments: 

I chose to contact Pawfection because of the volume of positive reviews I saw here on Angie’s List, and Darryl lived up to every one. He is such a nice man and it was immediately clear how deep his knowledge, understanding, and care of dogs really goes. He listened to all of our concerns, shared what we believe to be valuable information and explanations, and left us feeling confident that we have the tools/techniques we need now to continue the training we’d like our dog to have. The methods we discussed are all humane and instinctual which we greatly appreciate because we want our dog to be happy and respect us, not fear us. We literally just had our meeting with him, so I can’t technically comment on the long term effectiveness yet, but I have no doubts. We are already looking forward to attending some of his group classes so that we can socialize our little lady and learn some more ourselves! 

Share on Band of Neighbors: 

Yes

 

Overall

A

Price

A

Quality

A

Responsiveness

A

Punctuality

A

Professionalism

A

Additional Questions Answered when completing this review

How much did the final cost compare to the original estimate? right on

How does the value of the work compare to the price? I got more than my money’s worth

How far in advance did you schedule the work? more than 2 weeks

Did you find the company through Angie’s List? yes

If yes, which source(s)? website

Why did you choose this contractor? reputation

Have you used this company before? this is the first time I’ve used this company

What did you like most about this contractor? He was so pleasant to work with! And seemed to genuinely care about my dog’s well-being in conjunction with my own concerns.

What words of advice would you give other members considering this contractor? Be patient. Darryl’s schedule seemed busy when we called, but the time flew by and he was absolutely worth the wait!!

 

_______________________________

 

 

Janelle Menard
Orlando, FL 32827

 

March 13, 2014

 

Approximate Cost: 

$199.00

 

Description Of Work: 

Provided in-home dog (and owner!) training in a 2.5 hour session. 

Member Comments: 

I found Pawfection Dog Training online, along with several other dog training businesses. Pawfection was clearly set apart from the rest. I was very impressed with Darryl’s level of qualifications, long-time experience in training dogs for a wide variety of reasons (behavior, service dogs, K9, and narcotics tracking, to name but a few), as well as Pawfection’s commitment to the local community.  Surprisingly, Pawfection’s rates were substantially less than those of several other trainers with less experience and fewer qualifications. I booked an appointment to get help with behavior modification for my 1-year old golden retriever, which inherently included teaching me how to be a better Dog Mom, starting primarily with establishing myself as the pack leader so my pup would know his place.
The training session included instructional information for me about the roots of general dog behaviors, maximizing nutrition and proper play. It was enlightening, to say the least!  Darryl worked with my dog, showing me how to establish authority–always with kindness–demonstrating ways to prevent my dog from jumping up on people, how to encourage proper leash behavior on walks, and even the basics of how to track. I was **amazed** at the difference I saw in my pup after just a couple of hours. It was like having a key that unlocked a treasure chest.  I truly feel that I understand my pup far more and that our bond has strengthened.
Darryl and Penny Payne were incredibly helpful with teaching me how to better handle my dog.  I appreciated that they taught thoroughly, but with a great sense of humor. I look forward to the opportunity for more specialized training for my pup, as he really needs a job…! Don’t hesitate for a second to call Pawfection and make your appointment!

 

 

 

________________________________

 

Belinda Applegate
Winter Park, FL 32792

February 13, 2014

 

Approximate Cost: 

$200.00

 

Description Of Work: 

Provided instruction and education on behavioral issues with our 4-month old puppy.

Member Comments: 

Absolutely unbelievable results in almost no time at all. Darryl was very quick to recognize the behavior of our very “tenacious” puppy (his words, not ours – our words were “psycho”). Tips and tricks were very straight forward, and very simple to follow. The education we received about our puppy’s behavior, and what to expect was absolutely priceless and added tons to the experience.
No kidding, we were getting ready to find a new home for little Sally, and Pawfection arrived almost on time, and definitely in perfect timing with our needs. Our dog had been biting us, jumping at us, and just didn’t know the word “no.”
Darryl also recognized certain products that would help with Sally’s needs… I thought… “here we go, here’s the pitch”. Guess what… of the couple things he provided as “extras”, his prices were cheaper than I can find anywhere online or locally. He brings them along and provides them because he believes in the products and doesn’t make any profit on them.
Pawfection saved us, and saved our puppy from finding another home.
My recommendation – if your dog even just looks at you funny, call Pawfection for an in-home training session. You will not regret it. This is the real deal at a fraction of what I could even imagine they should charge!

________________________________________

Andrea Albers

Orlando, FL 32822

January 17, 2014

 

Approximate Cost: 

$200.00

 

Description Of Work: 

Darryl came to the house for an in-home training session with our dog Reese to help him with his aggression.  

Member Comments: 

All I can say is amazing!  Our dog Reese was very aggressive.  So aggressive that we couldn’t have friends or family over.   We adopted him 2 years ago from a rescue group.  Reese came from a very bad background.  He was left in an outdoor kennel for the first 2 years of his life – with hardly any human contact.  When we got him – he was a 2 years old puppy.   He didn’t know how to do anything.  Even with that – Reese was the most loving dog that we have ever had, but he had a huge distrust for everyone else.
So we searched out trainers – and we went through 2 trainers.  First one told us that Reese was a “Red Zone” dog, we were in over our heads and we should euthanize our dog.  This after only meeting our dog for 5 minutes.  Our hearts were broken!  That was not going to happen.  Second trainer did clicker and treat training.  For some things, it worked  fine, but for his aggression – nothing.  She wanted to put him on doggie Prozac.  We didn’t want to do that either.   Then we stumbled upon the Pawfection website.  It was as if the website was taking just to us.  We read all the reviews on Angie’s List, but still couldn’t believe that our dog could change that fast.  Darryl came over today, and like they said, it was as if he was able to turn off the switch that caused the aggression.  Instantly!!!  Can’t wait to get Reese started in the group training with Fun-agility!  Then, our big dream is to take Reese to the dog park, when he can be the dog, that we always knew he could be.
I would definitely recommend Pawfection to anyone who wants a professional dog trainer.

Share on Band of Neighbors: 

Yes

Review Photos: 

·         Reese
Reese

Page Of Happiness Nominee

 

Overall

A

Price

A

Quality

A

Responsiveness

A

Punctuality

A

Professionalism

A

Additional Questions Answered when completing this review

How much did the final cost compare to the original estimate? right on

How does the value of the work compare to the price? I got more than my money’s worth

How far in advance did you schedule the work? 1-2 weeks

Did you find the company through Angie’s List? no

If no, what was the other source? web search

Why did you choose this contractor? reputation, other, reviews on Angie’s List

Have you used this company before? this is the first time I’ve used this company

What did you like most about this contractor? very professional

What did you like least about this contractor? absolutely nothing

What surprises came up during the course of the work? how fast his techniques really work.

What words of advice would you give other members considering this contractor? just to listen, and practice everything he says.

What words of advice would you give this contractor? Nothing – he was a fabulous person.

This is your space. Feel free to give us your two cents … or quote your favorite movie? Today was life changing for our dog Reese, and for ourselves.

 

____________________________________

 

anne-marie pearson
lake mary, FL 32746

November 09, 2013

 

Approximate Cost: 

$100.00

Description Of Work: 

Group training at Winter Springs dog park.

Member Comments: 

I have been a member of Pawfection group training for the past 18
weeks.  Both of us (Babette and myself)  have grown and become more
confident with each other.  The group training classes held at Winter
Springs dog park are invaluable to building a trusting relationship with
your dog.  We learn obedience, leash skills, agility and fun.  And the
dogs learn that too!!!  I highly recommend to anyone who is seeking a
place to work your dog, become confident and have fun on Saturday
mornings!

 

___________________________________

Delia Jacobs
SANFORD, FL 32771

June 01, 2013

 

Approximate Cost: 

$105.00

 

Description Of Work: 

Pawfection (Darryl & Pennie) provided us with both in home consultation for puppy/dog behavior/obedience issues and subsequently group agility/social behavior/obedience training (weekly).

  • We have a chow chow puppy and Pawfection has assisted us with an in home consultation that provided us, the parents, with the tools, tricks, education, tips, and guidance to help manage behavioral and obedience issues both now and in the future.
  • Subsequently, we have been involved with Pawfection for weekly (group) agility, obedience and socializing for our puppy/dog.

 

Member Comments: 

Excellent! We could not be happier that we found Pawfection (Darryl & Penny!). We had tried all kinds of different ‘classes’ from the big box stores that really didn’t assist us or get any 1 on 1 attention for our dog, our behavioral & social issues and for socialization. When we first found Pawfection, we were skeptical at first, due to our encounters, money spent, et al. with some ‘questionable’ training (obedience) that we had done in the past. What we found, however, is a company (and more importantly people) with the expertise, interest, and compassion for our situation and our dog/family. Darryl arrived at our home for consultation with our entire family. He interacted with our dog and educated everyone as to; problem diagnosis, directional advise for owners/parents, tools of the trade to help provide an atmosphere for a more well-balanced and well behaved dog, and a genuine interest and motivation to help us become better dog owners and parents. We couldn’t of been more happy with the expertise that Darryl (and the rest of Pawfection) brought to us. We subsequently signed up for the weekly social/agility/obedience group classes in Winter Springs. Pawfection has provided an atmosphere of discipline, socialization, agility courses and framework for success and for our dog.
We can’t recommend Pawfection as a company highly enough to even the most skeptical dog owner. They put the dogs first, the customer first, provide an ‘over the top’ service, bring decades of real hands on experience and deliver an exceptional product.

 

____________________________________

sandra sanchez

Kissimmee, FL 34743

July 15, 2013

 

Approximate Cost: 

$199.00

Description Of Work: 

Daryl came to the rescue of my 3 yr old Cairn Terrier who had a problem with anxiety.

Member Comments: 

My Cairn Terrier was generally well behaved at home but had the problem of becoming very feisty and anxious when someone would ring the bell at home or if we stayed out for the weekend. As soon as we would put her harness on, she would get anxious and feisty like trying to protect us. It was an embarrassment because she was loud and would pull aggressively on the leach like trying to run while on the leach.
So we decided to call Pawfection Dog training. Daryl came and immediately started to test the dog in several ways and took her out on a leach, showed us some tricks to calm the dog inside and outside the house. To make a long story short, my dog became a different dog with a better attitude, no more barking and growling inside the house then we went out for a weekend and I could not believe how well she behaved with her harness and leach. No embarrassment, loud barking, or growling. It became the best weekend ever and very peaceful. The training also helped on a way my miniature Schnauzer. We recommend Pawfection Dog training if you need your dog to behave as you wish. First thing to remember is that you’re the boss in the house not the dog. Thanks Darryl and good luck.

____________________________________

 

James Stenhouse
Maitland, FL 32751

September 30, 2013

 

Approximate Cost: 

$267.00

Description Of Work: 

Service scheduled was a two hour in home training session with Darryl. Service requested for our two black Labrador Retrievers. Unwanted behavior was excessive pulling on walks, “charging” the front door and jumping on visitors, “red zone” behavior on walks when passing other dogs, cats, squirrels, and motorcycles. Our price was higher than advertised only because we elected to purchase items from Darryl. For people who spend a lot of time with our dogs it is a great investment!

Member Comments: 

After reading all the reviews here on the company I was excited but skeptical. We had attended obedience classes before with mixed results and the idea that our issues could be addressed in a single two hour session seemed too good to be true. Well I was happily proved wrong! Darryl arrived promptly as scheduled and took time to listen to what we wanted done. After some education about dogs he showed us how to do scent training which was my favorite part! He quickly addressed the issue of the dogs charging the front door with simple but very effective techniques. We leashed the dogs up and took them out for some walk training. The same techniques applied to the front door were applied to break them from the “red zone” behavior while on walks. I wanted to wait a few days before I wrote this review to make sure that our dogs were still responding. I’m overjoyed to report that they are and are walking past others dogs as if they weren’t even there!

 

Submitted from Angie’s List iPhone Application

 

                                                ________________________________

Gloria Holloway Debary FL September 8th 2013

THERE IS NO BETTER THAN PAWFECTION DOG TRAINING ANYWHERE!
I have been associated with Darryl, Pennie and their staff since about March of 2013,when I adopted a rescue puppy. I began group obedience classes & found the PAWFECTION folks extremely knowledgeable, & professional. Their techniques of Positive Reinforcement is paramount to training your dog, They do no use force, fear or any other negative techniques. They use a firm, gentle hand when teaching, which not only brings out the best in your dog, but also brings almost immediate results.
Darryl, Pennie, & staff welcome every person to their classes like we are family & treat all the dogs like they are their own. With as many dogs gathered at one time for group training, one might expect there would be chaos and confusion, but that is never the case. Everything is well orchestrated and monitored so multiple classes are going on all at the same time, Every dog receives a lot of attention and help with the training they are receiving.  Darryl, Pennie, & staff are very hands on with training at all times.
Although I was taking the group obedience classes, I continued having some behavioral challenges with my puppy at home. I scheduled Darryl for an “in home’ session. One session is all it took to straighten this little guy out and put him on the path to success!. Darryl taught me very simple, gentle techniques to modify his behavior and how to teach him appropriate behaviors, all while loving on him and playing with him at the same time. When Darryl left that one session in our home, we saw a completely different dog. I have continued to utilize what Darryl taught me, and by being consistent I have found my little guy is EAGER to learn more!
There is no other dog training company I would recommend other than PAWFECTION DOG TRAINING.  There is no better anywhere!

Tina Hyland Winter Springs FL September 7th 2013

Pawfection is the best dog training in Orlando. I just signed up for a 2nd round of 6 week agility/socialization/obedience training for my 5 month old puggle pup and we couldn’t be happier. Great fun for both me and doggie! there is so much for me to learn about raising a happy and well balanced canine – thank goodness for the patience, skill and years of experience of the Pawfection team, I know for sure I’m in the right place. . The British humor is a total added bonus – love these guys!

Stephanie & Nathan Orlando FL July 23rd 2013

Pawfection Dog Training offers a unique, fun training experience for both dogs and their owners at very reasonable prices. After yielding unsuccessful results from local pet store training and videos, we researched other dog trainers and came across Pawfection. Upon review, we were amazed by their credentials and positive feedback from their clients. Immediately upon contacting Pawfection, we were provided with helpful information and excellent customer service from Pennie Payne. She was very understanding and thoroughly answered all of our questions. We decided to book an in-home training session for further advice. After only one in-home session with Darryl Payne, our puppy problems were resolved. It was incredible how quickly results were achieved and how much we learned in just one session. We now attend group training (due to the great success of our in-home training) and have continued to see amazing results with our two puppies. The trainers are very knowledgeable, courteous, and understanding (and not to mention very funny). We are extremely grateful for all of Darryl and Pennie Payne’s help. We highly recommend Pawfection Dog Training to anyone and everyone!

Linda Fleming Orlando FL July 22nd 2013

I followed Darryl’s directions and saw improvements almost immediately.  The main reasons I called Daryl was because my dog chased squirrels, pulled on the leash and was marking his territory in my bedroom.  Daryl explained why he was acting out and told me (and showed me) what to do.  I called him after a couple of weeks and told him I was having issues with his aggression towards other dogs.  He told me to bring him to the Winter Springs dog park and he would work with him- which he did.  A couple of weeks later I called him again and asked him what my next step should be to introduce him to other dogs and Daryl recommended the group “fun-gility” classes that he and his family (and associates) teach on Saturday mornings.  I started taking my dog to the beginner classes and after the third week my dog really started enjoying the class and is not aggressive toward any of the other dogs and they are all bigger than him.  Friends and neighbors have noticed a positive difference in my dog.
Daryl takes the time to analyze each dog and get to know them and how best to train them.  I have complete confidence that if I have any further issues Daryl will help me over the phone or in person with no additional cost to me.  I couldn’t be happier with my rescue dog at this point.  And he looks forward to the group classes on Saturday’s.
I am amazed at the time and effort Daryl and Pennie put into providing the classes on Saturday’s- beyond anything I could ever imagine.  They are there for 5 hours every Saturday to set up and provide classes for us- I can hardly handle 1 hour in the heat.

Non member of Angie’s list July 2013

Excellent service and advice.  Dog flourished.  We will be returning to lessons again in the fall when it gets a little cooler.  Owners are extremely responsive and friendly.

Lina Poorten Heathrow, FL 32746 July 13th 2013

Upon adopting our rescue black lab puppy, we wanted to get her started on the right paw. Our extensive search for the right trainer led us to Pawfection. From the initial meeting in our house, it was love at first sight for our Remi. Darryl provided very valuable training not only for Remi, but also for my husband and me. The in-home training gave us the necessary foundation to begin group training with Pawfection.

Member Comments: 

Almost two years later, we continue to enjoy the weekly group training, and are delighted to watch Remi progress each week as she begins to grow out of her puppyhood, and work toward becoming a therapy dog.

I can’t stress enough the importance of socializing a pet, and Pawfection excels at striking the necessary balance that helps dogs learn through work as well as play.
At the risk of bragging, Remi receives compliments on her behavior wherever we go, and we respond by sharing our “secret” and encouraging other pet owners to give Pawfection a try, as some of our neighbors have also done.
All that to say that all of us are extremely happy with the results. And that includes Remi, who seems to know when it’s Saturday, and she lets us know that she can’t wait to see her friends at Pawfection.

 

Douglas McTigh Longwood FL September 2012

 

Darryl came to my house to provide some dog training.
The time was educational and worthwhile.  I could see immediate results in what he was teaching.  A major lesson is that the human, as well as the dog, must be trained to co-exist.
I chose to continue practicing these ideals at his group sessions on Saturdays.  Class times were adjusted in the summer to cope with the warmer temperatures.  Classes were impacted during rainy periods since the park had some drainage problems.  At all times I felt in-sync with what Pawfection was doing, when we were meeting, and the public-facing events that Pawfection was involved with in the community.
What I appreciated was the handling of (what appeared to me) the growth of people joining the classes. As more dogs would show up each week, precautions were made to ensure that every dog had an equal experience– Additional staff/helpers, more organized routines, etc.  Darryl’s humorous personality is a plus!
I have recommended Pawfection to friends with dogs and will continue to recommend Pawfection.

Heather Bagwell Orlando FL July 21st 2013

This was the best decision and experience we made for our dogs and our family. Within 24 hours we and our dogs were living in peace. Darryl and  Pawfection Dog Training are true professionals and our 3 dogs are proof of that. The fee is reasonable and worth every penny. It has been four months since our in home training and I would recommend Pawfection Dog Training to everyone. We were so pleased with our results we will be taking the next step and taking our dogs to Pawfections agility training.

Jordis Kessler Lake Mary July 21st 2013

Daryll Payne and the people who help him every Saturday at the dog park are completely professional, friendly and fun.  Daryll knows dogs and knows when a dog has what it takes (or doesn’t) to be shaped into a working dog.  The rest is up to the dilligence of the owner and the trust between owner and dog.  I cannot imagine anyone complaining about the dedication and advice that Daryll gives.  Well, some people are just into the blame game and do not want to admit to themselves that they were doing things against the advice of an expert.  Never mind that, now!  If you want to learn how to train your dog, come on over to Pawfection Dog Training.  We have a really great time and the dogs love the work and the play.  The rest is up to you and your dog!

Vicky Stanley Palm City 34990

We recently adopted a beautiful 2-1/2-old yellow lab.  Upon adopting him, we immediately looked on Angie’s List for a trainer that could help our family of four learn to train him in a consistent and positive way.  We saw the rave reviews on Angie’s list earned by Pawfection Dog Training.  We only had a few minor issues with the dog, i.e. barking at people at the door or sniffing people upon their entrance into our home, and barking when left in the fenced back yard for any length of time.  Darryl came to our home and educated us on dog behavior with a very interesting Power Point presentation.  He then worked with us to correct the minor negative behaviors.  He also showed us how to walk the dog in a manner that is fun for the dog and for the handler.  He also showed us how to play some mentally stimulating games with the dog.  Our lab now sits like a gentleman when someone enters our home and waits to be approached by the visitor.  He LOVES his walks on his 26-foot retractable leash.  He enjoys searching for his treats.  He no longer barks when left in the yard for a half hour in the morning.  We took Darryl’s advice and hung a bungee cord with a toy on the end in a tree in the yard.  This provides outdoor entertainment for  our dog.  We also hide some treats in the yard and he enjoys finding them.  The dog is going to his bed exhausted and very happy at night.  We are so happy that we found Darryl upon adopting this pet.  This is the beginning of a beautiful relationship with our happy and well-behaved dog.  Our session was worth every penny.  Thank you SO MUCH, Pawfection Dog Training.  We would love to take our dog to the group obedience and agility sessions, but we are moving at the end of the month.  To those just “thinking” about calling Pawfection, do yourself (and your dog) a favor and just do it.  It will be the difference between having a good dog and an incredible dog, and it only takes two hours of your time!

 

Our dog Charlie had a terrible barking problem. He would bark at people walking in the street, when people came to the door, at our lawn man, and pretty much anything and everyone! He was very nervous and when he started barking, he wouldn’t stop. I was very close to buying a bark collar for him, but I decided to explore other alternatives first. I checked Angie’s List and came across Pawfection Training. Their website said that they only needed 2 hours to solve our dog’s behavior problems. I have to admit that I was very skeptical about this, but they had great reviews on Angie’s List. Daryl came to our house and delivered on every promise. He gave us the tools to stop Charlie’s barking almost instantly in a completely humane manner that didn’t cause any harm to him whatsoever. Today, Charlie is completely different dog and well-adjusted member of our family. He is a much happier dog now and we are happier owners. Thanks Daryl!

 

We started out with a very large German Shepherd puppy without a clue as to how to train him.  German Shepherds are apparently very different than all of our previous dogs.  Darryl turned things around in just two hours.  Then we began the obedience and agility training.  Our dog really shines when he is there.  Now, we are considering training him for search and rescue and Darryl is the man to help us to train him.  We highly recommend Darryl and Pawfection Dog Training.

 

This man was wonderful he was very knowledgeable he was very reasonable in price and best of all he solved my problem. I had an aggressive young dog I was to the point that if this did not work I was going to put her down. I have had terriers all my life but never one this bad in less then two hours in my home he had her under control. After h left I took her for a walk we passed kids, people on bikes, and other dogs this would have been a nightmare before I had to give one correct for a minor infraction otherwise she behaved like a normal dog. He even showed how to stop the barking and jumping up. I am thrilled, I know there will be minor setbacks but now I know how to correct it, and he will come back if I have a problem. That’s service.

 

Our 15 week old puppy was becoming a handful and Daryl first described and then presented several things we can do to challenge the puppy. He also illustrated correction techniques that now seem basic but before meeting Daryl we would never have thought of them. Correction and training technics are firm but not harsh. Best of all they worked right away.
Our 10 year old golden retriever would bark when the door bell rang. We now have a plan to curb that. He also would “attack” the vacuum cleaner and that seems to have been corrected also.

Member Comments:

We are extremely happy with the results, even though it has only been a few hours. The price, value, knowledge, professionalism etc are top notch. We could not have asked for more. Soon we will be starting the puppy classes at Pawfection and are looking forward to that.
If anyone is having an issue with a mature dog or puppy, give Pawfection a call. We found Daryl very easy to talk to.

 

 

Darryl provided exception service and dog knowledge that helped guide and train us to communicate effectively with our 7 month old olde english bulldogge in a 2 hour in home session. With having young kids in the home we felt it important to bring up our family in a manner in which we could have fun and be safe and Darryl has helped us get going rapidly in only 2 hours….unbelievable.

 

 

Educating us on dog behavior and training.  Demonstrated his methods on our dog.  Referred us to other businesses we may need to care for our canines.  Gave us information on further training classes and future possibilities for our dog.

Member Comments:

I was very impressed with Darryl’s knowledge and friendly manner.  We felt very comfortable with him and my dog responded well to him.  All in all, it was money well spent.

 

 

Darryl came over after normal business hours (5:30) and explained in great detail how to both communicate with and understand our puppy’s needs as well as food recommendations in a one on one setting.  He was at our house for 2 hours and was easy to talk to.  He is very knowledgeable in everything dog!  We also are part of his puppy group training classes (6 weeks) on Saturdays.

Member Comments: 

Darryl was on time and was very good with our 12 week old puppy.  He walked us through his presentation which was easy to understand and he answered every question we had.  He also took a look at her current food and recommended a food that was cheaper and better quality!  He showed and taught us how our puppy thinks and what she perceives and how to teach her manners.  He also gave us great ideas on activities/play that are easy for us and mentally stimulating for her.  There are so many good things he covered!!!
The puppy classes are great!  Our little pup gets to play with other puppies outside in an environment that is fantastic plus she gets to learn some manners!  This is a six week course that blows the doors off anything else offered plus it is incredibly affordable ($105).
Without a doubt Darryl is the best dog trainer and has the most experience that we have met!  He is highly recommended.

 

 

Bow wow, Darryl fixed my 3 border collie dogs in 2 hours. The issue I had was that my dogs jumped up at people as soon as they were greeted Darryl fixed them with ease and they are still fixed. They were generally badly behaved dogs as you might expect for 3 young brothers but i now own 3 angels. You need to call him now if you need to train your dog. Thanks Darryl.

Member Comments:

Fantastic.

 

 

He helped to train my 3 year old lab stop jumping up on visitors.  So far it is working fine.

Member Comments: 

When he arrived he immediately saw the problem and said it would be an easy fix.  He went over the entire process and in a short time had gotten the attention of my dog and he was he was studying being better.  I would stongly recommend this trainer.

 

We started training with Darryl at Pawfection because we have a very exuberant Australian Shepherd who needed both physical and mental stimulation. We have found that thru Darryl’s guidance , we not only have a well exercised and better behaved dog,
but a happier one too  !!! (which we didn’t think was possible) .
Darryl’s patience and ability to teach all ages and breeds is amazing to observe, and yet each dog and owner receives individual attention.
Darryl has taught us ways to stimulate our Aussie’s intelligence and patience , from playing simple  Hide and Seek type games,
to long stay/waits..with the reward being a loving touch and verbal praise !
He teaches us how to better understand our dog and anticipate his actions.

The best part for us…Sydney LOVES going to “class” on Saturdays!   There’s no better testimony than a happy dog!

 

Description Of Work: 

Training and agility as well as a one on one session

Member Comments: 

OMG they are the best an English version of the dog whisperer.  I have a hard headed stubborn boxer boy and Darryl has been great at getting him to pay attention.  He just loves the agility part of the training and comes home exhausted and calm.  He is great at training dogs with fears and I would recommend them hands down and I have tried others but my boxer responds the best to Darryl and Pennie.

Veterinarian review

Not only do I regularly recommend Darryl Payne as a dog trainer and behaviourist, but myself and two other members of our practice take our own dogs to his group classes. Darryl has proven to be confident with all types of dogs regardless of their problems, he is patient, positive and provides exactly the right motivation just when it is needed. He has a genuine interest in, and love of, dogs including their care and welfare. Darryl’s communication skills are excellent, he is sympathetic and empathetic to the challenges faced by owners and always provides well judged and wholly appropriate solutions.
Mr J.S.Pearson DVM BVSc BSc MSc MRCVS Veterinary Surgeon

Back to Top
Website design by Techdesigns.co.uk.